Home Maps & Info ScoreCam All-Tourney Record Book Schedule Results Bracket Rosters

Abingdon-Avon Tournament Trivia:

The Tornadoes, a newly established consolidation between the former Abingdon and Avon school districts in 2013, is 3-4 in the tournament.

In 2006, Abingdon set several team marks including lowest point totals for three games (119) and four games (166). One might not expect that sort of low offensive output could translate into a four game run at the tournament, but that was precisely the case. Thanks, in part, to setting a record for fewest points allowed in four games at 147, the Commandos finished in 5th place.

Barry Welsh was the last Abingdon Commando to be named the tournament MVP. He received the honor in 1999.

Abingdon's Bob Siedel was tournament MVP in 1983.

Avon spent four seasons in the tournament (1991-94) and went 0-8 in that span.

Over their years as Abingdon, the Commandos had 18 players named to the all-tournament team. Avon never had a selection.


Last year in the tourney:

Eureka W 41-28
Farmington W 40-33
Camp Pt Central W 40-26
West Hancock L 33-45

Abingdon-Avon Tournament Titles:


as Abingdon:



Prior to the tournament:

Nov. 20 Orion* L 43-46
21 Rock Island Alleman* L 44-52
23 Mercer County W 76-67 (OT)
24 Sherrard L 57-59 (OT)
30 @ Farmington L 36-47
Dec. 4 @ United W 65-52
7 Illini West W 55-32
8 Peoria Quest L 58-65
11 @ Ridgewood    
14 Galva W 55-41
15 @ West Central W 64-37
18 @ Stark County W 62-50
* Orion Tip-off Classic


Abingdon-Avon Tornadoes
Back row L to R: Lukas Tinkham, Jacob Repp, Ryan Adolphson, Cayden Mahr, Drew Hecox, Nick Inness
Front row L to R: Kaden Jones, Zach Wertz, Tylor Miller, Graham Struhs, Levi Meadows

2 Kaden Jones 5-9   G 10
3 Tylor Miller 5-10   F 11
5 Zach Wertz 5-10   G 10
10 Levi Meadows 5-10 G 11
14 Lukas Tinkham 6-1   G 11
15 Drew Hecox 6-0   F 11
20 Graham Struhs 6-0   G 11
23 Nick Inness 6-1 F 11
25 Cayden Mahr 6-4 F 12
30 Ryan Adolphson 6-4   F 11
35 Jacob Repp 6-3   F 11

HEAD COACH: Kent Jones
ASST. COACH: Cory Link, Adam Crose
SPONSOR: Reusch, Butler & Assoc PC
NICKNAME: Tornadoes
SCHOOL COLORS: Black, Green & Yellow
CONFERENCE: Prairieland
CITIES IN DISTRICT: Abingdon, Avon, St. Augustine, Herman
Copyright 2018 Macomb-Western Holiday Basketball Tournament Committee
Site maintenance by Chris Derry