Home Maps & Info ScoreCam All-Tourney Record Book Schedule Results Bracket Rosters

Canton Tournament Trivia:

Canton was eliminated in the 2015 tournament in a double overtime thriller by Farmington

2014 marked the first time since 1997 that Canton went winless in a tournament.

The 2010 consolation trophy was won by Canton which was made even more remarkable given the fact they entered the tournament with an 0-8 record.

After spending the previous two holiday seasons at the Charleston tournament, Canton returned to the M-WHT in 2009 and won the title.

Canton is 11-9 (.550) since returning to the M-WHT.

Jordan Fouts was named MVP of the 2009 tournament.

Wes Emberton was the 2003 tournament MVP and the only Little Giant to be named to the all-tournament team that year.

Canton has appeared in 132 tournament games. Only Macomb (163) and Pittsfield (146) have played more M-WHT contests all-time.

Shannon Pritchard was the 1986 Tourney MVP.

Hunter Rhodes made 32 free throws during the 2013 tournament to break a 43 year old record. He surpassed the former mark of 30 made by fellow Little Giant Alex Henseler in 1970.

In 1979, Canton set a tournament record when they made 36 free throws in a game.


Last year in the tourney:

Lewistown L 56-33
Camp Point Central W 51-37
Farmington L 2OT 58-50

Canton Tournament Titles:

2009 2002 1999 1990


Prior to the tournament:



Canton Little Giants
L to R: Avery Dean, Lucas Ketcham, Clay Schroeder, Luke Randall, Blake Murphy, Dewey Mrris, Kaleb Owens, Cooper Smith, Preston Taylor, Garret Brant, Evan Otto, Caleb Miller

1 Caleb Miller 5-11 135 G 10
3 Evan Otto 6-0 185 G 11
5 Garrett Brant 6-2 145 G 10
10 Preston Taylor 5-10 145 G 12
11 Cooper Smith 6-3 170 F 11
22 Kaleb Owens 5-9 150 G 10
24 Dewey Morris 5-8 170 G 11
25 Blake Murphey 6-2 160 F 11
32 Luke Randall 6-3 175 F 12
33 Clay Schroeder 6-5 220 F 11
42 Lucas Ketcham 6-7 235 C 12
44 Avery Dean 6-4 220 C 11
HEAD COACH... Jay Murphy NICKNAME... Little Giants
ASST. COACH... Cody Myers and Ken Brant
HONORARY COACH... John Biernbaum SCHOOL COLORS... Purple & Gold
SPONSOR... WIU Foundation CONFERENCE... Mid-Illini
CITIES IN DISTRICT: Canton, Norris, Banner, Dunfermline

Copyright © 2015 Macomb-Western Holiday Basketball Tournament Committee
Site design and maintenance by Chris Smith